Close

FEP Senior Member

Default 1981 Mercury Zephyr: refreshing

Back story:

I received this car when I was a sophomore in high school with 75,XXX on the clock. My dad bought this car form the original owners niece for a very small sum of money. So we are the second owners. This car got me through two years of high school, two of college and some there after. Its given little to no problems and never left me stranded. But has seen better days. Now that is almost 30 years old I'm gunna do my best to fix it up and make it presentable. Mainly for the random cruise or car show.

Since I'm not planning on restoring my Zephyr or really resto-modding it either I figured I'd go with the term "refreshing" instead. So now on to my plans and pictures.

Exterior:

I'm gunna give the roller paint job a try, if it doesn't turn out. I'll sand it off and take it some where to have it sprayed. Also I would like to two tone it. Maybe give it a little "ES" flair, but not go over board with it. Blacked out tail light panel, black between the wheels, not really sure of I wanna do the girll and head light bezels black or not. As for wheels, not 100% sure yet. I like the wheel covers but I've also got a set of 10 holes. Possibly some AR Ansen Sprints?

Interior:

New carpet, dash and "new" dash pad. I'm planning on keeping the red interior. I've got a factory AM/FM I'm gunna put in it with Infinity speakers all around. I'm gunna try and install a modified Mustang console as well. I also want to install some after market gauges, oil, water and volt. Cause an idiot light won't tell you everything.

Mechanical:

Stopping power!! New brakes all around, lines, calipers and master cylinder/booster. Eventually rebuild the 2.3 and maybe do some slight mods to get a little more umph out of it. New shocks/struts and any other odds and ends that will make it handle and ride better