Close

puleo76

Default 86 SVO, I added turbo coupe ic & turbo xs rfl BOV==STALL

Hi guys, i have this very big problem that i dont know what to do. I upgraded my intercooler, bought a bov and got it welded on and whatnot... Now when ever i am driving my car stalls and does weird stuff that is scaring me..

Anyone have an svo w/ 88 turbo coupe intercooler and turbo xs rfl bov?

i know im not the only person to have their car stall on them w/ a bov. how does 1 fix it from making it stall??

could the hose be 2 small?
    less washers?
    i would sure like to hear your responses and pick your brains.

thank you in advance,

tom

I'm no expert on this, but from the little i read....you'll need to tighten it down as much as possible.

Secondly...BOVs are not too good for the SVOs metering system. Some have no problem, but they seem to like when the air is metered back into the system instead of just blown off.

Check TUrboFord, a few people have used the RFL
    No matter where you go, there you are

FEP Super Member

Screw the BOV in nice and tight as MAX stated..

BOV can mess witht the system, the VAM has metered the incoming air and expects it to be their. Then the BOV vents it to atmosphere. This could be the problem IF it is happening right after the BOV does it's thing.

You could alway's hook your BOV up to act like a bypass/recirculation valve and see if that cures it.

Otherwise are all of your VAM/intercooler hose's tight and leak free???

kyle
    Also, do not be so quick to judge someone's comments as being derogatory. It is often difficult to interpret someone's intentions having only text and no body language or tone of voice to guide you.
    "If road racing where easy it would be called drag racing"
    1986 Thunderbird 5.0/AOD

Hooptie

Try putting the stock bypass back on. They are better for performance on a stick car anyway as they recirculate the boost back into the system.

puleo76