Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: '85 Stalling

Default '85 Stalling

Good day fellow 'stangers , I just got an '85 GT speed carb. The odometer reads 37k original miles. The car in my opinion is a near perfect survivor. The only issue I'm having is it stalls when I get into higher RPM's or shifting into 5th gear. It will bog down and seems to be fuel starved. I coast to a stop and after 2 or so trys, she starts right back up and the issue comes back after a mile or so. I have no knowledge of this cars history other than what information I got from the seller who is a classic car dealer who bought it from an auction and Carfax (which indicates one owner and a decent maintanence history). I know the gas has a bad smell, like its old. I put fresh gas in it mixed with about 2 ounces of Seafoam. It's a carb. car, and I have zero experience on them. I was told to check the fuel filter, which I have on order. Other than that Im lost. Any help would be appreciated. I want to enjoy this classic in the coming warm weather. Thanks

Yeah. Get that filter replaced. It sounds like fuel issues. I am not much of a carb guy anymore but others on here will point you in the right direction.
    1984.5 G.T.350 5.0 CFI AOD Convertible (TRX package, loaded)
    K&N filter in a stock dual snorkel, GT40 heads, Edelbrock 3721 intake, MSD 8456 Dist., MSD 8227 coil
    Comp cams XE254H, hypereutectic pistons
    Hooker Super Comp Shorty Equal Length Headers, catted BBK H-pipe, full custom duals
    Maximum Motorsports caster/camber plates and strut tower brace, 3.73 rear, dura grip (both Yukon)
    Ford Performance Springs, Firehawk A/S 225/55r16 on LMR TRX r390 wheels (street)
    Federal 595 rs-rr 245/40r17 and 255/40r17 on OE cobra r wheels (race)
    AOD rebuilt with a 6 clutch direct drum, Koline steels stacked with 8 clutches, Kevlar band, superior shift kit, new torque converter. --Everything else stock and fully functional.

Like said above ^^^