Close

Default Smog Pump Removal?

I'm not sure if this is a stupid question to ask, but I'd rather ask and not screw my car up.

So I have been running an off road H pipe on my car for a few months and left the stock air/smog pump on the car as I really had no need to remove it. I have been wanting to but haven't really gotten the chance. Anyways, I installed new factory pullies on my car and noticed I needed a new belt so I've been considering bypassing the smog pump.

If I bypass the smog pump, can I run the shorter belt and leave the smog pump in place until I get a chance to remove everything? Or should I wait until I can remove the physical pump before bypassing it. I only want to buy one belt, not one for now and another in 2 weeks.

The car is also my DD so I need it running asap so hopefully I can buy a new belt by the end of tomorrow.

Daniel

So you are not running downstream air to a cat? If not then I would just get a smog pump delete pulley. Others will know if you have clearance issues leaving the pump in and running the shorter belt. I find over the long haul being able to just put on stuff that was meant for the car easier. Particularly after some of the mods pile up. My gt40s take a different plug than the stock heads and nearly every time I buy plugs I forget about that...
    1984.5 G.T.350 5.0 CFI AOD Convertible (TRX package, loaded)
    K&N filter in a stock dual snorkel, GT40 heads, Edelbrock 3721 intake, MSD 8456 Dist., MSD 8227 coil
    Comp cams XE254H, hypereutectic pistons
    Hooker Super Comp Shorty Equal Length Headers, catted BBK H-pipe, full custom duals
    Maximum Motorsports caster/camber plates and strut tower brace, 3.73 rear, dura grip (both Yukon)
    Ford Performance Springs, Firehawk A/S 225/55r16 on LMR TRX r390 wheels (street)
    Federal 595 rs-rr 245/40r17 and 255/40r17 on OE cobra r wheels (race)