Close

Default 82 RS looking for 8.8 rear end donor cars?

Hi All,

Im new to the fox body, with a 1982 Capri RS, 5.0L , 5 spd manual, I purchased a short time ago.

Prior owner(s) somewhere along the way built up the engine, but the car still has the 7.5 rear.
    The person I got the car from did not know anything about the rear diff.

Id like to change the 7.5, and swap in the beefier 8.8, but also have other reasons for this.
    - add rear disk brakes
    - convert the wheels to 5 lug
    - ensure limited slip diff happens (I'm not sure if the current 7.5 has it or not, as i've not pulled the cover ... yet)

I have read already in other threads on this subject where 86-93 mustang 8.8 will swap out directly. No modifications required. A 94 - 98, will work but may require using the axles from the 7.5, and maybe a few other suspension pieces.

So are there specific donor cars that I could source such an 8.8 rear end that that would meet the requirements, yet install without a lot of modifications to the 8.8 to mount in the 82 Capri?

Any details would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Last edited by FlatTop; 04-07-2022 at 10:07 PM.

Welcome to FEP! Congrats on the 1982 Capri RS, post up pictures for all to enjoy.

The 94-98 Mustang is your best donor for an 8.8 with rear disc brakes. The issue is the wider rear track width can cause wheel/tire fitment on the early Four Eyes. The rear end is a bolt in affair, but there will be things you have to do to make it all work and fit the best.

Any 86-93 Fox 8.8 can be used and swapped to rear disc either by using the 94-98 axles and brakes or buy using aftermarket axles and brakes. There are a ton of options. The best thing to do is to do a search and read the different threads for all the little issues that have to be dealt with when making this type of swap. I am doing the same thing in my 82 RS, but staying 4 lug drum which makes the swap a bit easier and cheaper. Best of Luck and again Welcome to FEP!
    ​Trey