Close

Default Installing distributor question

I saw a youtube video where a guy working on a 5.0 had problems because he said he installed the distributor "one tooth off." He had TDC and the rotor was on one, but it ran very choppy until he said he solved getting it on the "right tooth" by rotating the whole distributor a bit.

I thought as long as you had it TDC and the rotor was exactly on #1, which tooth you were on wouldn't matter?

I'm just about to install a new distributor and now I don't know if I need to alter my plan. I originally thought TDC and rotor pointing #1 was all I had to concern myself with before setting advance.

Bonus question...I have an Edelbrock high rise intake, higher performance cam and four barrel vs stock. Am I still looking at advance timing of 10-14 initial / 34-36 total?

Appreciate any help! This is my first time installing a distributor / timing.
    Last edited by MN_Stang; 06-07-2021 at 12:59 PM.