Close

Default Heater Box for 79 Cobra

Hi all, My heater box needs replacing. It's broken in so many ways... A buddy suggested converting to 83+ style. Does this work? Does anyone have insight into the swap? Or should I just hunt for an original 79? I'm a total noob and know nothing lol

TIA

If you don't have the skills and knowledge, making the swap to the later model style HVAC might be a bit overwhelming. Not impossible, but still several items change. I personally swapped my 79 PC from Non A/C to the later style with A/C. It requires, drilling and cutting out the firewall for the correct fitment of the HVAC box, Evaporator lines, and heater core tubes. Having all the parts from a donor car will be necessary to complete the task and keep the costs down. If you have to buy all the pieces individually, you might be better off swapping in an aftermarket A/C setup such as Vintage Air, etc. Good Luck!
    ​Trey

"I Don't build it hoping for your approval! I built it because it meets mine!"

"I've spent most of my money on Mustangs, racing, and women... the rest I just wasted."

Mustangs Past: Too many to remember!
    Current Mustangs:
    1969 Mach 1
    1979 Pace Car now 5.0/5 speed
    1982 GT Stalled RestoModification
    1984 SVO Still Waiting Restoration
    1986 GT Under going Wide Body Conversion Currently

Current Capris:
    1981 Capri Roller
    1981 Capri Black Magic Roller Basket Case
    1982 Capri RS 5.0/4spd T-top Full Restoration Stalled in TX
    1984 Capri RS T-top Roller
    1983-84 Gloy Racing Trans Am/IMSA Body Parts

Thanks Wraith. I'll just stick with 79-82 style then.

Quote Originally Posted by AirborneRanger View Post
    Thanks Wraith. I'll just stick with 79-82 style then.