Close

Thread: Saleens

Default Saleens

I saw someone post a pic of his car, a 1987 Saleen T-top. The car had all the GT bodywork, bumpers, side spats and grill, but had a Saleen rear wing. I thought all Saleens were built off the LX platform? He said it was authentic. It looks like a GT with a Saleen wing and windshield sticker.

A few were built on the GT.
    Axle Tag Decoder
    Buck Tag Decoder
    Door Tag Decoder
    Owner Card Decoder
    Transmission Tag Decoder
    VIN Decoder

FEP Registries: Black Magic & Crimson Cat / Cobra / Dominator / G.T.350 / LTD LX/Police & Marquis LTS / M81 / Pace Car / Predator / Saleen / Turbo GT & Turbo RS / Twister II

Wanted (Dead or Alive): VINs, door tags, buck tags, build sheets, window stickers, owner cards, transmission tags, axle tags

I am not a Saleen expert so I may be wrong, but I didn't think Saleen built any of the cars without the signature aero package? The GT model for the 85/86 was a relatively easy fit for the added aero package. The 87-93 GT would be much more involved since that would require swapping both front and rear bumper covers to make it work. Hopefully one of the Saleen experts will chime in and verify if the 87-93 GT's were actually used by Saleen, keeping the OEM aero package on it. I have never seen or heard about one, but anything is possible. My guess would be someone slapped a Saleen wing on a 87 GT as well as the windshield banner. If the GT has the Saleen interior trim and badging it might be an interesting vehicle. Otherwise I would guess not a true Saleen. The 87 GT with T-tops is somewhat rare, so that is cool. More information is needed and would be appreciated.
    ​Trey

"I Don't build it hoping for your approval! I built it because it meets mine!"

"I've spent most of my money on Mustangs, racing, and women... the rest I just wasted."

Mustangs Past: Too many to remember!
    Current Mustangs:
    1969 Mach 1
    1979 Pace Car now 5.0/5 speed
    1982 GT Stalled RestoModification