Close

Default Need some advice and direction.

Hey All, hope you all are holding up well and sorry for the wall of text lol
    So I'm running into some problems with my car and I'm not sure what the best way to proceed would be. Keep in mind through all of this that I'm not a mechanic so I'm learning everything from reading this site and advice from people with more knowledge like most of you. Anyways, on to my problem.
    84 gt with a 302 from a 91 converted to carb. Stock 7.5 rear end. Wanting to go dual exhaust and kind of forgot about the brake problems on the passenger side when I was mocking up my flowmaster exhaust. I Was originally wanting to run the 7.5 till I learnt the car better then eventually swap for a 8.8. I do have a 8.8 from a 91 with ford racing 3.73 gears according to guy I bought it off but it's pretty rusty so it would need blasting, paint and new brakes etc. It has brake line along with bracket for that year also. I also have the rear upper brake hose bracket for 86-93 from lmr. Couple pics of it.
    Attachment 132071
    Attachment 132072
    Attachment 132073
    So I guess I'm needing to know what would be the best course of action? Would it be easier to swap the 8.8 in? Or change brake lines over on the 7.5 for now so I can run my exhaust and then switch over when I'm ready? I've already rebuilt the brakes on the 7.5 and the 8.8 would need to be redone.
    What else would I need if I went for the 8.8 swap?
    What else would I need if I stayed with the 7.5?

Can the pads, drums, springs etc. Just be swapped over to the 8.8? I know I can swap axels but I'm nowhere near comfortable to be doing that. Lol
    Mustangs
    84.5 Gt T-top
    85 Gt

A 85 GT has dual mufflers with a 7.5 axle. you could use the body to axle line from one with the 7.5, and possibly use the hard lines on the 7.5 or 8.8 with a little tweeking or bend up some new ones.