Close

Default My latest powerlifting meet

I've been lifting weights for 43 years and have enjoyed competing in power lifting meets all that time. Yesterday I completed my 50th meet. I was quite pleased with the results as I had a plan mapped out for what numbers I wanted in each lift and I was able to hit all those numbers. Gotta love it when a plan works!

I am presently 68 years old and competed in the 132 lb weight class where I was able to set two 100% RAW world records, in the deadlift and total. The meets are actually conducted in kilos but I've converted the weights to lbs as that's what most of us are more familiar with.

All the squats went well and I might have left just a little on the table as the third attempt went easier than expected, but I got what I had in my plan, so no complaints. Here's my third squat with 192.5 lbs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgF4VW9LfQg

The bench is by far my worst lift these days, and that's the case with most of us older lifters as it just seems to be the one that age hits the hardest. My third attempt was with 132 lbs, bodyweight, when there was a time when I could bench double bodyweight. But that time was 30 years ago.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6c5v-01Bw4

The deadlift has always been my best and favorite lift. It was the one lift I came into the contest wanting the most. I concentrated my training on it as I wanted to get the record. I needed to pull 313.5 lbs and had done 300 lbs in training so I thought that with the contest adrenaline rush I'd have a shot at it. My second attempt with 291.5 was a bit harder than expected but I decided to go after the 313.5 anyways instead of choosing something less. It was hard, but it went.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNZm7h9W_Mc