Close

Default Noobie swap time

Hello everyone. I am new to this whole V8 thing people keep telling me about. I have wanted a project car for awhile and I just purchased an 83 Notchback, as it is really the only mustang I could see myself having fun with. It's rough, but there's definitely an awesome car hidden away. So, it has been V8 swapped in the past, has 81k miles, a C4 transmission, and that's about all I know drivetrain wise. The motor on it is basically trash, sat outside for 7 years with no heads so it's FAIRLY locked up. Since I am new to this whole thing (my first american car) I wanted some opinions. I want to be carbed just to keep it simple. Messing with direct injection has made me really hate computers and it has everything set up for carb. My thoughts are to go with a weiand stealth intake, holley 650cfm carb, gt40 heads, b303 or e303 cam, 1 5/8 long tube headers, and 2 1/2 exhaust. As far as the block goes, i'm not sure if I should try to find a stock one, see if this mega locked up one can be used for anything, or find an explorer motor, or find a 351w. Planning on 3.55 gears and possibly keeping this c4 or t5 swapping. I want this to be done cheaply so I might stick with the c4. I want this mostly as something to just work on, but I'm not a racer; I am a tinkerer. I want this to be a fun weekend/street car. Looking for something like 250-300rwhp. Budget wise, as long as it doesn't cost me More tham say $3000 I'd be ok with it. What all your thoughts?

First Welcome to FEP! Hope you enjoy the Forums.