Close

Default Source for T5 Rebuild Parts

Need to rebuild the T5 out of my Convertible, it’s a WC T5 from an ‘88.

Where’s the best place to get the most complete rebuild kit!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

the rebuild kits are too comprehensive and include a TON of non wear items, and you pay dearly for that. Generally the only things that wear in a t5 are the synchros and second gear and the 1/2 slider. Bearings are almost always ok..keys, springs, all non wear items. The plastic shift fork tabs often can be re used, but if they show signs of wear, replace those. I've been building for shy of 15 years now, and that's my experience. I'll take the t5 apart, mic out 1 and 2 synchros (134-136k for brand new thickness) then inspect the gap between the 3 and 4 synchros..too little gap the synchro is shot..I have lately been getting the synchrotech synchros sold on ebay. $160ish for a full set.

My advice is to take the trans apart first and inspect everything. Post pictures here if you like. If you buy the full rebuild kit, which costs you 350-400 now, then replace the worn gears on top of that, you'll come out higher then if you bought one already rebuilt by someone else. Keeping costs down is key.

for second gears, get the one from amp distributing, assuming you need one..those are one piece, unlike the 2 piece chinese ones that come apart.

Other then that gear, ebay, thegearbox, astro performance, or hanlonmotorsports are all great places to buy the t5 parts
    Jeremy
    -86 mustang SSP X CHP Unit # 3788-bone stock & staying that way
    -66 Mustang, bench seat car,8.8,t5 fuel injected 92 engine
    -72 Maverick 5.0 resto in process
    -12SS Camaro 6 speed. 600 FWHP, Kraftwerks Supercharger
    -03 z71 Avalanche 9" lift on 35s Daily Driven 20k a year. 290k miles at 11.8 mpg
    Entire 1986 electrical and vacuum troubleshooting manual download
    http://slantnosefox.com/picturehosti...g%20manual.zip

Thanks for the advice,