Close

Default new t5 question about an 04 t5 swap

I found an 04 tremec t5 actually bought it for cheap.
    I know the input shaft is longer, but LMR has an adapter plate specifically for this swap, Has anyone used it?
    I am planning on running a GPS speedo since this trans is electric and switching to a gear drive would be a pain.

Any thoughts, not sure how warm and fuzzy I feel about it yet

Thanks

Todd

I have to assume the T5 is out of a V6 2004 Model as the V8 for that year had the TR 3650 which uses an intergrated bellhousing for the Modular engine.

I believe others have used the V6 T5 with fairly stock engines and been fine. I have no experience with that, so I can't comment. Good Luck!
    ​Trey

"I Don't build it hoping for your approval! I built it because it meets mine!"

"I've spent most of my money on Mustangs, racing, and women... the rest I just wasted."

Mustangs Past: Too many to remember!
    Current Mustangs:
    1969 Mach 1
    1979 Pace Car now 5.0/5 speed
    1982 GT Stalled RestoModification
    1984 SVO Still Waiting Restoration
    1986 GT Under going Wide Body Conversion Currently

Current Capris:
    1981 Capri Roller
    1981 Capri Black Magic Roller Basket Case
    1982 Capri RS 5.0/4spd T-top Full Restoration Stalled in TX
    1984 Capri RS T-top Roller
    1983-84 Gloy Racing Trans Am/IMSA Body Parts

New User

That's an excellent T5, it has the stronger, later 068 gear set. It is easy to swap the input shaft....
    92 coupe
    78 fairmont - sold, but still loved

I'd install a fox length input shaft and bearing retainer. The spacer might move the shifter and crossmember mount point rearward to a location that requires additional modifications.