Close

Default 1985 GT 4BBL with lots and lots of fuel pressure IN the fuel tank.

Months ago I noticed when I took off the fuel cap on my Mustang that a lot of air came rushing out of the fuel keck as I spun off the cap. I thought it was a fluke at first but it's not. It's everytime. It doesn't seem to affect the way it drives but I can't think what would cause this problem given that the system is an engine driven mechanical fuel pump. The car is generally stock and I have probably put 1800 miles on it so I'm still learning it.

Tonight I took it on a 10 min drive with 3/4 tank and just as a test when I got home opened the fuel cap.... WHOOSH.

Any ideas on what to look at? Is this a problem or a feature?

Fuel tank vent tube is plugged. It’s supposed to vent into a charcoal canister that sucks the fumes back into the motor I believe.

could always get a vented gas cap unless it’s an emissions thing where you live

What application could I buy a vented cap for which would thread onto the Mustang filler neck?

Mine had that same problem. Lo and behold, the evaporative system was not hooked up at all. Ever since I got that system working again, I have not had any problems since. My garage smells a lot better too. I don't know why people screw with disabling this stuff. It doesn't hurt performance any at all.
    1985 Mustang GT conv. modified 4180C, Weiand Street Warrior intake, equal length headers, true dual exhaust, 3.55:1 8.8'' rear end, 2003 V6 T5, Ford Racing 10.5" clutch.

1998 Mustang GT auto. PI swapped. Daily beater

Banned

I have tried finding a vented cap and the McParts stores don't seem to carry them. I have read somewhere on the forums here that all you really need is to get a charcoal canister from basically anything and hook up the vent hose to it and problem solved. Thats what I plan to do soon.

I believe the 80’s VW caps fit and are vented. Don’t remember for sure, but they are available.

charcoal canister is much better route.