Close

Thread: 85 Convertible

Default 85 Convertible

I have a 1985 Mustang 5.0 Convertible with 46,900 miles on it. Long block was replaced at 26,000 miles. It has the fuel injection system that looks like a throttle body with two injectors. PROBLEM: When the engine reaches normal operating temp (after about 5 miles of driving) the car starts to chug and if I slow down and stop, it dies. Starts back up no problem, but will die if I slow down under about 15mph. Previously, it would jump to over 2000 rpm after warming up. I replaced the idle control module and that problem went away. I just replaced the catalytic converter, which was totally shot, both mufflers and the tailpipes hoping the chugging was a catalytic convertor problem. No luck. Any suggestions? What do I do now? Any and all suggestions would be appreciated. I would like to drive it before the weather prohibits it.

I have no personal experience on this type of car but if you search for "CFI issues", I know there have been several people with similar problems over the last year. One reoccurring problem on that system seems to be vacuum leaks. Try scanning for codes as well. Good luck

Start by pulling KOEO and KOER codes. The CFI system uses the same procedure as the later SEFI cars,
    though the code definitions differ somewhat. I would also hang a fuel pressure gauge on it, and a timing
    light.

CFI systems are very picky about three things -

Fuel pressure. The spec is 39 PSI ± 2 PSI. Usually 40-41 is the sweet spot.

MAP sensor vacuum signal. Make sure the vacuum hose to the MAP sensor has no cracks or kinks, and
    that the hose connects directly from the manifold vacuum tree to the MAP sensor, with nothing else tee'd
    into it. Also make sure the MAP sensor itself doesn't leak.

Ignition timing. Apart from the vacuum kick-up, the idle speed control on the CFI 5.0 is done by varying
    the ignition timing. The timing needs to be set to 10º BTDC with the SPOUT connector unplugged. You