Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Won't run, gas puking out of vent tube

So this morning my 85 GT would start but wouldn't stay running and ran like garbage. Replaced the fuel filter which didn't help. It'll only start/stay running if I floor it. I've noticed fuel is puking out of the front float bowl vent tube. Any ideas? I believe the carb is a Holley 650.

I am no carb expert but there are several here that will chime in but my first thought would be a stuck float.
    MCA #110307
    "Saved" 25k mi 83 GT - http://vb.foureyedpride.com/showthre...ght=Wrecked+GT
    83 GT T Top
    83 GT Convt
    84 20th Anniversary T Top GT350 SOLD 11/17
    84 GT Convt SOLD 08/18

Sounds like either a float is stuck or your needle and seat are stuck/have trash in them.

Most likely you will need to at least pull off the front bowl and verify what is going on. A complete overhaul may be the best option depending on how long it has been since it has been rebuilt. Good Luck!
    ​Trey

"I Don't build it hoping for your approval! I built it because it meets mine!"

"I've spent most of my money on Mustangs, racing, and women... the rest I just wasted."

Mustangs Past: Too many to remember!
    Current Mustangs:
    1969 Mach 1
    1979 Pace Car now 5.0/5 speed
    1982 GT Stalled RestoModification
    1984 SVO Still Waiting Restoration
    1986 GT Under going Wide Body Conversion Currently

Current Capris:
    1981 Capri Roller
    1981 Capri Black Magic Roller Basket Case
    1982 Capri RS 5.0/4spd T-top Full Restoration Stalled in TX
    1984 Capri RS T-top Roller
    1983-84 Gloy Racing Trans Am/IMSA Body Parts

Name:  IMG_5040.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  88.3 KB[HR]
    Quote Originally Posted by wraithracing View Post
    Sounds like either a float is stuck or your needle and seat are stuck/have trash in them.