Close

Default What do you think of these Ford Motorsport Headers

So I got these headers from a 1985 GT a few years back. I have two 85's that I am looking to put headers on. Car one is a decent 85 coupe with a stock engine that I may at some point put a cam, carb maybe heads on. Has stock headers but already converted to dual exhaust. Was going to buy new headers for this car and use the Ford headers for car two. Car two also have a stock engine and although it may get rebuilt at some point it would be a stock rebuild. Not even sure if I am keeping this car long term. It still has a stock exhaust setup. But I have a flowmaster cat back for it. I am rethinking things and maybe I should use these on car one and buy some generic headers for car two. Just wondering what people think about these compared to some of the newer brand name shorty headers. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by Ford 5.0; 06-11-2017 at 03:14 PM.

I'd say they're as good as any new shorty style header.
    1985 Mustang GT conv. modified 4180C, Weiand Street Warrior intake, equal length headers, true dual exhaust, 3.55:1 8.8'' rear end, 2003 V6 T5, Ford Racing 10.5" clutch.

1998 Mustang GT auto. PI swapped. Daily beater

I think I am going to have them ceramic coated and use them. Thanks

Those are stainless steel so the ceramic coat would only be for appearance not longevity. I ran those on my 93 Cobra because they age just like the factory headers so you dont notice them like a set of ceramic or chrome ones. As for power, there isnt much power to be had from shorty headers, I think it is somewhere around 7 hp. For seat of the pants improvement your best bet is a set of gears. 3.55's are great with a mostly stock engine and 3.73s are my favorite with any type of power adders.

Mike
    1982 GT 351W, retro hyd roller, ported Pro Comp heads, Tremec, M2300K brake kit, Recaros...needs paint!
    1984 LX 5.0 Vert *SOLD*
    1993 Cobra #3971 mostly stock *SOLD*