Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default '83 GT emissions components

OK folks, I've decided to return my '83 GT to near stock condition. There will be a few performance changes to the engine, but my goal is to retain all the factory emissions equipment, as this will be a daily driver, and in MD, that means the idle/2.5k RPM tailpipe sniff every two years.

Here's my issue; as purchased, ALL the emissions hardware was missing and long gone.
    Now, I'm a seasoned Ford tech, I have access to both OEM and aftermarket service pubs, and have extensive background with all Ford EFI from EEC-IV-up. Carbs were on there way out when I got into the business, so I don't have this down pat like EFI.

Thus far, I've acquired the correct carb and EGR spacer, TAB/TAD and ACV, and air pump. I'm missing everything else.

What I'm asking for; Those of you with an '83-'85 carbed GT, would you be willing to document your emissions components? I need to know the colors and/or part numbers of the ported vac switches, delay valves, resistor valves, etc. as I have not found a reliable source for this information through my parts connections. Non of my dealers have retained the microfiche from the '80s, and the MicroCat system isn't reliable that far back.

I'm in no rush, as this project is just getting underway. But, if you have the info I need, I would greatly appreciate it!

Lastly, if you have any of the needed parts, in good working order, for a reasonable price, please pm me. Thanks!

Funny thing is I was discussing this same thing with 1983-GT just this morning. My 83 GT retains all the original equipment and emissions stuff and I am happy to help and post up pics. I saw that Green Sales is selling microfiche from 1970 -forward for $25 if you have access to a reader.
    MCA #110307
    "Saved" 25k mi 83 GT - http://vb.foureyedpride.com/showthre...ght=Wrecked+GT
    83 GT T Top
    83 GT Convt
    84 20th Anniversary T Top GT350 SOLD 11/17
    84 GT Convt SOLD 08/18