Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Is my engine stock?

This is my first post and I am a complete noobie to thsese cars so sorry for the silly question. Anyway I recently bought a 1985 Mercury Capri RS with a 5l 5 speed and am very happy with it, however the engine dosnt look like any Foxbody engine I have seen. I am hoping one of you would be able to tell if it is the same engine it came with from the factory? Name:  IMG_0160.jpg
Views: 385
Size:  77.2 KB

I can't speak to your specific car of course but that looks somewhat like a 1985 5.0 HO engine based on the picture. A true '85 5.0 engine would have had an aluminum intake with the Ford logo stamped in it. That may be the correct intake only painted blue, I can't say. It has had the smog pump removed and it did not come with those electric fans. It would have had a clutch-type fan and a different dual-snorkel air cleaner assembly on it. Also the engine would not have been blue from the factory so either someone has painted it in place or it has been rebuilt/replaced at some point. Your car appears to not have AC and that front engine dress would be correct for a car without AC as well. The valve covers would also be correct.
    Liberty once lost is lost forever.

John Adams
    July 7, 1775

Quote Originally Posted by homer302 View Post