Close

Default Hey guys need some help on making my engine run better thanks in advance

Ok I have a 1985 gt with a 1990 mustang 5.0 motor in it it has an edelbrock 600 carb and I thinck it has a mild cam from wat I was told first question is what would be the ideal timing I have it set at 12 degrees advance that's stock Right and also when checking vacume with a vacume gauge where do I hook the gauge to the carb or the manifold and what should it be reading thanks for any info and if their is anything els I should be checking out let me know I'm also new at carbs I've always had fuel injection thanks in advance

What you want to do is start by figuring out if your timing marks are close. Put tape on the balancer. Put a pin down the spark plug hole on #1. Turn the motor by hand until it touches the pin and mark the balancer. Rotate it the other way and mark it. Measure it out and mark the mid point, that's your TDC.

Now pull the passenger valve cover and see where your cam timing is at. When you bar over the motor you should be able to get a rough idea on cam lift and even duration using the same tricks.

What the ideal timing is depends upon a lot of factors like compression and fuel octane, swirl factor in the head, etc. You should be able to use a timing light and rev the motor up and keep adjusting your base timing until you see around 36-38 degrees total advance all in.

Frequently you can turn the distributor until the motor just starts speeding up then back just a little bit. If the motor cranks hard it's advanced too far.

FEP Senior Member

There are a lot of factors that effect how much timing an engine needs. Basically stock engines are fine with 12-14 degrees initial. Max all in timing shouldn't go over 34-36 with mechanical advance. When vacuum kicks in under light load, then you could go as high as 40. If the engine is low compression, less than 9:1, premium gas, these numbers are fine. If you use 87, then you will most likely run into pinging.