Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Holley 350 jet size for a 2.3

I have a semi built 2.3 with a new Holley 350 carb on it , with the stock jetting , plugs r black with soot , so I was wonder if I could get an idea of what I should go down to ? 58? I'm no carb expert so any help would b great , thanks .
    1985 mustang gt t-top
    looking for a pennsylvania ssp
    parting out 1979 fairmont futura

Please elaborate on "semi built"...

Incorrect jet size isn't likely/necessarily what's going on, because unless you see your spark plugs real black after a shut-off after a horsepower peak high rpm/redline run, it's not necessarily the jet size that's not okay. What's the List #, 7448? What's the idle rpm and manifold vacuum at? How far out are it's mixture screws? Any fuel coming from it's boosters while it sits idling?...
    Last edited by Walking-Tall; 06-27-2016 at 06:26 PM.
    Mike
    1986 Mustang convertible ---> BUILD THREAD
    Past Fox-chassis "four eyes":
    1983 Mercury Cougar LS
    1986 Ford Thunderbird ELAN
    1980 Capri RS Turbo

Work in progress website ---> http://carb-rebuilds-plus.boards.net/

Although EAO Pinto 2000 related, the needs of a Lima 2300 aren't any different. Both have an exceptionally good 2-bbl intake manifold.

See Page 70 from https://www.scribd.com/doc/26804743/...s-David-Vizard

Read the whole carburation section first.

Power valve 4.0
    Power valve channel restrictions need to be drastically reduced from 59 thou to 17 thou.

Carb frothing due to vibration makes modifications nessecary.

Jets at 130 hp flywheel net ( up 40% from the stock SOHC or just 10 hp up from a well worked 5200 Holley 2 liter Pinto engine) need to be 56's.

I do feel a 500 cfm 4412 will provide just what you are looking for on a 2300.