Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default 1980 Mercury Zephyr project

I feel like this is the time to introduce my Zephyr. I'm a commercial driver for Auto Zone, and one day I noticed this dilapidated 4 door Zephyr sitting behind one of the shops I deliver parts to. Because fox chassis reasons, I asked the owner if it was for sale, and he said make him an offer on it. I asked if he had a title for it, and he said he did. Well, after some negotiation we settled at $350. For my $350 I received a severely neglected, 1 owner, 1980 Mercury Zephyr 4 door showing 95,000 miles. It hadn't been tagged since 2005, and I later discovered it hadn't been driven since 2005 either. I also discovered that mice made their way into it during that time. They didn't chew wiring; they had plenty of seat foam, insulation, and cardboard to chew instead. Their nest was under the back seat, which makes sense because they entered through the fuel overflow hose hole in the trunk which was wide open because previous owner removed the grommet. Two days before Christmas last year I had it towed to my Dad's house a mile away, and I took these pics the day it arrived.

That's all for now, stay tuned more to come.
    Matt
    1984 Thunderbird -- 1989 302 HO, GT40 heads w/ Trick Flow springs, E303 cam, Edelbrock Performer 289 intake, Edelbrock 600 4bbl, 85 Mustang dizzy, Jegs o/r h pipe, Dynomax mufflers, Mustang AOD & shifter, Mustang 8.8 w/ 3.73s, Mustang front & rear sway bars, KYB 87-88 TC struts & shocks, and Mustang 11" front brakes.

1988 Mustang GT hatch -- Explorer intake, GT40 heads with Trick Flow spring kit, Crane 1.7 rrs, E303 cam, 70mm MAF, 70mm throttle body, o/r H pipe, Dynomax mufflers, Kirban Kwik shifter w/ Pro 5.0 Deluxe handle, clutch quadrant & firewall adjuster, and 3.27s
    (86 Mercury Cougar 5.0, 89 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5 speed, 80 Mercury Zephyr 4 door) sold

Nice! Great deal. What are your plans?
    82 ford fairmont futura
    quicktime turbosystems 70mm turbo