Close

Default new distributor now knocking and missing motor

Hi there. I am new to Fords But not to engine building. Chevy mostly so Fords are backwards to me. The rotor bug was eating into the dizzy cap so I figured the dizzy bearings were probally worn and the new dizzy was cheap enough so replace it. 85 gt 302 5 speed. I brought #1 to tdc and checked timing marks. Old dizzy out , new one in. Gears looked good, both distributors looked identical next to each other. started motor and have miss and knock. 140000 on motor. what happened. did the cam just not like the new dizzy? Any help on this would be appreciated. Its not 180 out or not timed . Thanks in advance

Did u use a compatible gear on the dizzy? '85 5 speed from the factory is a roller cam motor which needs a steel cam gear.
    ‘86 GT Vert, '89 LX 5.0

yes. new distributor has a steel gear

FEP Power Member Jerry peachuer's Avatar

Hmmm
    It may be possible when you pulled up and out old dizzy you happened to pull oil pump drive shaft out of pump there is a retaining ring preventing this but is possible it wasn't on old shaft (that's a knock possibly)

The rotor was eating the dizzy cap ? Got pic
    Maybe wrong cap there is a big cap small cap but I doubt this is what your saying so pic will help

Pull dizzy out and see if oil pump shaft is in the center of hole

Is dizzy seated all the way on its base ?

Gotta check these things with a fresh look in morn before work. Thanks

Silly question: did you use standard 302 firing order or HO 302?

Mike

What cylinder did you bring up to TDC passenger side ? Driverside?

Firing order comment above is a good question as well

If your rotor was eating the dizzy cap and you mentioned bushing wear ,That would be something I'd like to see a pic of i heard about this in ford distributors

these are within degrees of accuracy to properly do there thing it being off like what's described may be the result of the new knock sound your hearing