Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Factory temperature gauge ?

I'm not certain whether there's a 180-degree or 195-degree thermostat in the car. I'm assuming
    it's likely a 195. Is what you'll see below about where the needle should be sitting at when the
    car's warmed up, after/during the thermostat's open? It hovers around the N and no higher up
    the scale of NORMAL... useless. I guess it could be somebody put a 160-degree thermostat in it,
    but the hoses under the hood get good and hot. Is this kind of gauge reading "normal"?
    (This is while sitting, warmed up, idling)

Mike
    Last edited by Walking-Tall; 07-25-2017 at 03:57 PM.
    Mike
    1986 Mustang convertible ---> BUILD THREAD
    Past Fox-chassis "four eyes":
    1983 Mercury Cougar LS
    1986 Ford Thunderbird ELAN
    1980 Capri RS Turbo

Work in progress website ---> http://carb-rebuilds-plus.boards.net/

I have a 180 degree thermostat and it reads between the M and A when hot. Had a 160 degree thermostat before and it read roughly where yours does.
    Shawn

Currently in the stable:
    83 Capri RS Crimson Cat
    90 7 UP Mustang
    87 Mustang GT
    83 Porsche 928S
    69 Thunderbird Landau
    65 Cadillac Calais 4DR Hardtop
    02 Thunderbird

Quote Originally Posted by Dadsccat View Post
    I have a 180 degree thermostat and it reads between the M and A when hot. Had a 160 degree thermostat before and it read roughly where yours does.
    Oh, okay, maybe there is a 160-degree in it. I know it's functioning right, but that's no good for the cold we've got coming.
    ... and it might also be why I got and have two codes (41 and 91 ('86 3.8L, CFI, EEC-IV)) about being lean for no apparent reason...

Thank you, Niagara Falls, lol
    Hello from London,
    Mike
    Mike
    1983 Mercury Cougar LS
    1980 Capri RS Turbo

Quote Originally Posted by Walking-Tall View Post