Close

Question 5.0 to 3.8 swap Questions?

Alright I'm new to the fox body's. I have a 1983 ford mustang convertible with a 3.8 in it and the frame is completely rotted out and the engine was recently rebuilt. So I bought a 1983 Capri with no engine to stick the 3.8 in. The Capri was a 5.0 car and is completely gutted inside. So my question is, is how hard is it going to be to do this swap? What am i going to half to change on the Capri? and How much of the mustang parts are interchangeable? Thank You!

You won't have to change much, the engine and transmission only probably with both of them having been carbureted. All mechanical parts interchange and most body/interior parts, except one being a convertible limits the latter two.
    1984 Mustang GT owned since 1991 (first car). Mercury Mountaineer GT-40P engine, some suspension mods, currently undergoing a five lug SN95 brake upgrade and more suspension mods. Some minor body and interior mods have been done as well.

2004 GT convertible, 2001 Taurus LX, 1994 F150, 1950 F-1 Ford Pickup

Thank you Travis T! How different are their motor mounts?

You'll have to use the V6 engine mounts but they will fit the V8 crossmember.
    1984 Mustang GT owned since 1991 (first car). Mercury Mountaineer GT-40P engine, some suspension mods, currently undergoing a five lug SN95 brake upgrade and more suspension mods. Some minor body and interior mods have been done as well.

The drive train from the Mustang should be a bolt in swap. Keep the Mustang around until the swap is completed so you have all the little things. The dash & front seats will fit in the Capri, carpet may not be a direct fit. The rear seat is different on convertibles as is the interior quarter panels.
    Dave

If common sense was common wouldn't it just be sense?

1983 Capri L T top 5.0 efi aod
    1983 Capri RS Turbo
    1981 Black Magic 400 c6
    93 F-250 351 5sp 4x4