Close

Default brake pedal too firm with 87+ front brakes/rear disks

last week I finished my first stage of brake upgrades for my 79 cobra and it left the pedal much too firm to stop the car quickly even at low speeds. (hasn't been on the road, just in the driveway)

my setup consists of:

87 gt brake booster (adjusted to mc)
    1985 lincolin tc 1" bore mc
    thunderbird turbo coupe rear disks (27mm caliper piston I believe?)
    87 gt 11" front disks with standard 60mm calipers/87 spindles/stainless lines/solid caliper bushings
    adjustable prop. valve/gutted stock valve

the car does have a fairly agressive cam that will pull about 11-12inhg of vacuum at idle so that could be part of it. and I'm thinking that the master cylinder is slightly oversized for this setup but I'm no expert in the matter.

The reason I decided to stay 4 lug for now was my current wheel/tire setup that I have and I just wanted a good place to start with the brakes to get the car drivable (has sat as a stripped shell for 20 years)

if anyone has suggestions for me, please chime in

thanks, Devin

Quote Originally Posted by dk5_cobra View Post
    last week I finished my first stage of brake upgrades for my 79 cobra and it left the pedal much too firm to stop the car quickly even at low speeds. (hasn't been on the road, just in the driveway)

my setup consists of:

87 gt brake booster (adjusted to mc)
    1985 lincolin tc 1" bore mc
    thunderbird turbo coupe rear disks (27mm caliper piston I believe?)
    87 gt 11" front disks with standard 60mm calipers/87 spindles/stainless lines/solid caliper bushings
    adjustable prop. valve/gutted stock valve

the car does have a fairly agressive cam that will pull about 11-12inhg of vacuum at idle so that could be part of it. and I'm thinking that the master cylinder is slightly oversized for this setup but I'm no expert in the matter.