Close

Default Which T5 am I looking for to replace a SROD behind a 3.3l??

From what I have seen online there are about 3 different length input shafts used on the T5 over the years. Which one is the correct one to bolt to the SROD bellhousing (if I'm not mistaken the 3.3 bell is taller thatn the 2.3, or 5.0 bell)? I know I have to weld it up and redrill the holes, but first I have to find a tranny to swap in. Hopefully It will be the easier to find 2.3l 4cyl version with the .8 overdrive, not the harder to find V8 version with the much steeper .68 overdrive.

Woody

The 2.3l T5 would probably be you best shot depending on the build of the engine. anything over 300hp will put a major strain on the tranny.

I am not an expert on the straight 6 by any means . . .

If I understand correctly the 3.3L found in the 4E Mustangs uses a SBF bellhousing pattern, but only 4 of the 6 possible bolts match up. I am not sure which ones are off or if you can modify a regular V8/V6 T5 bellhousing to fit.

But if the above is true and you are willing to make it work, a T5 out of a SN95 Mustang with the 3.8 V6 would probably be your best option. The gearing would probably work well with your 3.3 and if you get the bellhousing and transmission as a unit then you shouldn't have any fitment issue due to input shaft lengths.

As for the input shaft lengths, IIRC the 83-93 T5 units are all the same input shaft length, but you have the 2 different diameters for the V8 and non V8.

The 94/95 V8 units use the longer input shaft (@ 5/8" IIRC) and require the matching bellhousing or a spacer with an earlier bellhousing. I am not sure on the 3.8 V6 units if they are longer or not.

Hope that helps some. Good Luck!

Trey