Close

Default Help Needed Carb? Distriutor? Coil? I don't know what the issue is

Hello Everyone this is my first post I am new to the mustang family and this is my first carbureted car. I purchased this car about 2 months back its an 84 mustang gt 4bbl. On cold starts my car starts up no issues but after driving it and turning it off the car wont start until it has cooled down or unless i loosen the distributor and start advancing or retarding it. I moved the coil because it was sitting on top next to the carbureter from where the previous owner placed it. im guessing its wither the carbureter or the distributor any help will be appreciated thanks guys.

Is it turning over hard? or is it spinning freely but not firing?

its spinning freely but not firing because all i have to do is mess with the distributor and it fires right up. i read somewhere that it might be the carb, in that the gasoline is turning into a vapor state and clogging it up therefore having to wait for the vapors to dissipate?

Let's start with some basics. Is this engine completely stock? Or if not, what mods have
    been done?

Hot starts on a carbureted engine are somewhat different than with a fuel injected engine.
    The proper procedure for hot starts, presuming things are working as they should, is to
    crack the throttle open about 1/4 to 1/3, then crank.

BTW, Ford originally put the ignition coil on top of the intake, on the passenger side just
    forward of the carburetor. I have never found a need to move one.
    Cheers,
    Jeff Cook

'85 GT Hatch, 5-speed T-Top, Eibachs, Konis, & ARE 5-Spokes ... '85 GT Vert, CFI/AOD, all factory...
    '79 Fairmont StaWag, 5.0, 62K original miles ... '04 Azure Blue 40th Anny Mach 1, 37K original miles...
    2012 F150 S-Crew 4x4 5.0 "Blue Coyote"... 65 coupe, 289 auto, Pony interior ... '67 coupe 6-cyl 4-speed ...
    '68 Vert, Mexican block 307 4-speed... '71 Datsun 510 ...