Close

Default Need part suggestions and opinions!!

I'm new to the 2.3T scene but have been on forums researching like crazy. I have a stock 85 svo that I'm starting to mod. The turbo was smoking so after some research and reading people's feedback I decided to have it rebuilt by Charlie at evergreen. He's going to be doing the t3/t4 hybrid and working some of his other magic on it. I also purchased a stainless header that retains the stock turbo location.

As for suggestions and opinions on other parts I was curious if a manual boost control off of eBay would be fine to use. And any opinions on a boost gauge.(I don't really trust the nearly 30y/o ones accuracy)

I also would like to get a bov and wanted people's opinions and experiences on one bought from eBay.

I'm probably gonna go with a megasquirt DIY kit since im having a difficult time finding an la3 computer for under $100. anyways i was wondering about the injector size I should run if I go with the ms. If I find an la3 ill just go with brown tops. (I'm upgrading the in tank pump to a 255).

Any other suggestion on parts are appreciated.

There's a guy on Ebay with a good reputation, who sells manual boost controllers. Check out item number: 271152153710. At least that's my story... Or I sell them a few dollars cheaper in the classifieds here... http://vb.foureyedpride.com/showthread.php?t=140287

I would expect most aftermarket boost gauges are probably fine. I've got an Autometer in my car, and honestly I'm a bit disappointed with it for the cost.

The majority of new car parts on Ebay are the made in China, knock off variety. Sometimes you get a good one, sometimes you get garbage. If you have a problem, you're probably never getting your money back or any kind of warranty service. The BOV and intercooler on my car are both Chinese, and they're still questionable parts. They seem to work, but they may work better if they weren't reverse engineered copies of the real thing.