Close

Thread: what is a ghia?

Default what is a ghia?

I am new to this please explain.thanks

Banned

Its a trim package. Ussually more "luxery" based things such as plushy seats etc. Ghia is a Italian company that does automotive design.

FEP Super Member Bryan Knebworth's Avatar

haha, I remember a friend of ours brother just bought this Mustang, and was telling us all about it. "Its an '80 Mustang GEAR--and its fast as hell!" My friends and I were only into '60s cars at the time, and no idea what he was talking about

From what I have seen Ghia=ugly. Of course this is just my opinion.

Jess
    Previously owned;
    1979 Mustang, v6 swapped to EFI 393, custom installed m122 blower, 4r70w trans, Megasquirt II, T-top swaped in.
    1990 Mustang, 545 BBF, C-4 with brake, ladder bars.
    1983 Mustang, 1984 SVO Mustang
    1984 Mustang convertible, v6 swapped to 351
    1986 Mustang GT, 1989 Mustang GT convertible
    1992 Mustang coupe, 4 swapped to 302

Ghias ugly ?? since when ?? My 82 is a GLX which if I remember right was the 82 designation that replaced the Ghia name. The car was no where near ugly. In fact it looked like any 79-82 hatch ya see posted on here. She just had the "Fancy " interior in her
    Rick Schmidt
    82 Mustang GLX hatch ( Soon to be a 351W Monster )
    84 Mustang Notch 4 Cyl car ( Not as Deceased )
    01 Mustang V6 ( Daily Driver)
    92 F150 302, (Old Red )
    And ... the 05 Grand Caravan (One Eared Blue Elephant )

I think the Ghia package first showed up in '74 or '75, on the Mustang IIs. As I remember, Ghias were all notchbacks in the Mustang II era, and they usually had the Landau vinyl top.
    The package carried over to the foxes for a few years.